The RSPCA Community Animal Welfare Footprints (CAWF) 2017 results.

The awards in 2017 saw entries at an extremely high standard with a record number receiving a gold award. Thank you to all the achievers and new entries who continue to make the Community Animal Welfare Footprints a success. A higher proportion than ever before of local authorities and housing providers hit the high standards necessary in the different categories to achieve Gold.  It is excellent to see that many are still providing a ‘gold standard’ service with regards to animal welfare.

For the full list of 2017 achievers please see below. If you notice your colleagues on the 2017 list please take the time to congratulate them on their efforts to improve animal welfare in their organisation.


Full List of 2017 CAWF Winners in England

The winner of the Innovator Award 2017 and the Special Recognition Award 2017 the runner-up will be announced at the awards presentation on November 28.

The following authorities were awarded the Animal Establishments Licensing Footprint:


East Riding of Yorkshire Council, London Borough of Lambeth, East Hampshire District Council
Winchester City Council, Tendring District Council, City of London Corporation.


Wirral Council, Southend Borough Council.


City of Lincoln Council


The following authorities were awarded the Contingency Planning Footprint:


London Borough of Camden, Northamptonshire County Council, East Hampshire District Council, Swale Borough Council, CSW Resilience Team (Coventry, Solihull and Warwickshire Councils).


Association of Greater Manchester Authorities (AGMA), Civil Contingencies and Resilience Unit (CCRU).


Leeds City Council, London Borough of Waltham Forest, Peterborough City Council, Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council, London Borough of Barking and Dagenham, Stroud District Council.


The following authorities and organisations were awarded the Housing Footprint:


Leeds City Council, Victory Housing Trust, London Borough of Wandsworth, Lambeth, Housing Management, Sutton Housing Partnership, Sussex Housing and Care, Dacorum Borough Council, West Kent Housing Association, Fortis Living, Optivo.


Derby Homes Ltd, Hanover Housing Association, Housing Solutions, Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council.


Bolton at Home, Westminster City Council, Bracknell Forest Homes, Wealden District Council, Tendring District Council Housing Services, A1 Housing, Gravesham Borough Council, Hastoe Housing Association, Aldwyck Housing Group.


The following authorities were awarded the Stray Dogs Footprint:


Pendle Borough Council, Cheshire West and Chester Council, Wirral Council, London Borough of Islington, Westminster City Council, London Borough of Brent, North Warwickshire Borough Council, Charnwood Borough Council, Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council, North West Leicestershire District Council, Swindon Borough Council, East Riding of Yorkshire Council, Kingston upon Hull city Council, Breckland Council,, Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council, Public Protection Partnership (West Berks & Wokingham), Darlington Borough Council, Stockton on Tees Borough Council, Hartlepool Borough Council, London Borough of Wandsworth, London Borough of Lambeth, Northumberland County Council, Crawley Borough Council – Community Wardens, East Hampshire District Council, Hart District Council, Fareham Borough Council, Gosport Borough Council, Havant Borough Council, Portsmouth City Council, Test Valley Borough Council, Winchester City Council, Borough of Poole, West Dorset District Council and Weymouth and Portland Borough Council, London Borough of Newham, London Borough of Hackney, Cornwall Council, Preston City Council, Eden District Council, East Hertfordshire District Council, Luton Borough Council, Dacorum Borough Council, Oxford City Council, Tendring District Council, Southend on sea Borough Council, Uttlesford District Council, Basildon Borough Council, Forest of Dean District Council, Stroud District Council, Mansfield District Council, Ashfield District Council, Gravesham Borough Council, Medway Council, Swale Borough Council, Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council.


South Holland District Council, Middlesbrough Council, Harlow District Council, Broxtowe Borough Council.


About the Footprints

CAWF covers four areas of service provided by the public sector that has some impact on animal welfare. They are:

  • stray dog services
  • housing
  • contingency planning
  • animal establishments licensing

Each Footprint has three levels – bronze, silver and gold – which carry progressively more demanding criteria. Successful entrants will receive a CAWF gold, silver or bronze logo to use on their organisation’s website and letterheads, subject to terms of usage, as well as a certificate.

Innovator Award

As well as the four Footprints there are also the prestigious RSPCA Innovator Awards. Winners of the Innovator Award receive a trophy, certificate and a CAWF Innovator logo to use on their organisation’s website and letterheads, subject to terms of usage. There is no specific criterion for the Innovator Award but there is guidance within the entry booklet of things to consider. The entries were assessed by a team of experienced judges from the CIEH, Trading Standards and leading animal welfare professionals.

An example of previous winning entries can be viewed here